A Study of Assassination

 

 

 

By George Selley

 

 

 

[COVER PAGE PROVIDES DOCUMENT RETRIEVAL INFORMATION]

[COVER PAGE PROVIDES DOCUMENT RETRIEVAL INFORMATION]

[COVER PAGE PROVIDES DOCUMENT RETRIEVAL INFORMATION]

[COVER PAGE PROVIDES DOCUMENT RETRIEVAL INFORMATION]

[COVER PAGE PROVIDES DOCUMENT RETRIEVAL INFORMATION]

[COVER PAGE PROVIDES DOCUMENT RETRIEVAL INFORMATION]

[COVER PAGE PROVIDES DOCUMENT RETRIEVAL INFORMATION]

[COVER PAGE PROVIDES DOCUMENT RETRIEVAL INFORMATION]

 
A study of assassination

 

The Eyes Publishing in French and English

 

192 pages

Format 25 x 30 cm

A binder with : 
A booklet, archive documents, press cuttings, 4 48-pages notebooks
Archive file, black and white photographs, photomontages in color

 

Price : 39€

 

in the press

British Journal of Photography

Photographic Museum of Humanity

A Study of Assassination

 

A Study of Assassination is a photobook exploring a CIA document recently made public, presenting a study to become an assassin. Young photographer George Selley denounces the United States tendencies to imperialism by playing with their double-edged international politics, business and influence intertwined. Between shameful lessons on murder and imperialism, George Selley presents in images this study he dutifully followed.

 

In 1997, following a law on the right of information, the CIA released to the public a document called “A study of assassination”, written in 1953 for the destabilisation of Guatemala. It aimed to discard the newly elected president, Arbenz, who wanted to buy lands from United Fruits, a multinational American company who controled a fifth of the country resources and almost the whole worldwide sales of bananas. United Fruits led a campaign to paint the guatemalan president as a soviet puppet. Ties between economy and politics led to an offensive in June 1954, made of mercenaries trained by the CIA overthrows Arbenz. The CIA had written this study with the purpose of training the mercenaries to the assassination act. This success leads Guatemala into a political disarray, which lasted up until 1990.

 

In this series, George Selley offers a reinterpretation of these events in two parts, based on this study of assassination. The first part is dedicated to the reconstitution of the study with photomontages, playing on the juxtaposition of bright and lively pictures on sinister stories about oppression, capitalist imperialism and assassination.

The second part is fictional, and plays with facts and fictions while refering to the disinformation campaign led by the CIA at the time. George Selley combines extracts from the study and Guatemalian police reports with pictures the photographer took when he followed the instructions of this study of assassination.

 

About the author

George Selley (born 1993) is a photographer, a film-maker and researcher based in London. He recently graduated in “Photojournalism and documentary photography” from the London College of Communication, and now teaches photography at the Fine Arts College in Camden. His work was published in Dazed, Huck, the British Journal of Photography, Artpress and FishEye magazine among others. In 2017, he was awarded the Carte Blanche Etudiants award in Paris Photo. The same year, he is a finalist for the Felix Schoeller award, which rewards the best breakthrough photographer. His work was exhibited in Germany, France, Italy, Spain, Poland, Ukrain, the Netherlands, the US and the UK.

A Study of Assassination

 

 

 

Par George Selley

 

 

 

[COVER PAGE PROVIDES DOCUMENT RETRIEVAL INFORMATION]

[COVER PAGE PROVIDES DOCUMENT RETRIEVAL INFORMATION]

[COVER PAGE PROVIDES DOCUMENT RETRIEVAL INFORMATION]

[COVER PAGE PROVIDES DOCUMENT RETRIEVAL INFORMATION]

[COVER PAGE PROVIDES DOCUMENT RETRIEVAL INFORMATION]

[COVER PAGE PROVIDES DOCUMENT RETRIEVAL INFORMATION]

[COVER PAGE PROVIDES DOCUMENT RETRIEVAL INFORMATION]

[COVER PAGE PROVIDES DOCUMENT RETRIEVAL INFORMATION]

A study of assassination

 

The Eyes Publishing en anglais et français

 

192 pages

Format 25 x 30 cm

Un classeur contenant : livret d’accompagnement, archives isolées, parutions presse, 4 cahiers de 48 pages autonomes

Documents d’archives, photographies noir et blanc, photomontages couleur

Prix : 39€

A Study of Assassination

 

« A Study of Assassination » présente un document de la CIA, récemment rendu public, qui n’est autre qu’un manuel de l’assassin. A travers des photomontages, le photographe George Selley dénonce les tendances impérialistes des Etats-Unis, en jouant sur leur politique étrangère à double visage, l’économie et le pouvoir. Entre leçons sur le meurtre et images vives des publicités de la United Fruit Company, l’artiste présente en images ce manuel dont il a suivi les leçons. 

 

En 1997, dans le cadre de la Loi sur la liberté d’information, la CIA publie un document intitulé a Study of Assassination, rédigé en 1953 dans le cadre d’un ensemble de dossiers concernant le Programme de déstabilisation du Guatemala et visant à renverser le nouveau président élu, Arbenz, qui voulait racheter des terres appartenant à la United Fruit Company. Cette multinationale américaine possédait alors un cinquième du pays et la quasi dotalité des ventes mondiales de bananes, et menait une campagne de publicité pour faire de ce président une marionnette des Soviétiques. Liens du pouvoir et du commerce font qu’en juin 1954, une offensive composée de mercenaires entrainés par la CIA renverse Arbenz et installe un dictateur à sa place, plongeant le pays dans une période d’instabilité politique qui durera jusqu’en 1990. Le manuel de l’assassinat aurait été crée par la CIA dans le but d’éduquer ses mercenaires à l’acte de tuer.

 

Le projet de George Selley propose une relecture des évènements en deux parties à partir du manuel « A Study of Assassination ». La première concerne la reconstitution du manuel à l‘aide de photomontages, où se juxtaposent les publicités vives aux sinistres histoires d’oppression, d’impérialisme capitaliste et de meurtre.

La deuxième partie de l’ouvrage mêle fait, fiction et absurdité, tout en faisant référence à la tactique de désinformation de la CIA, dans laquelle sont associés des documents du manuel, des rapports de police guatémaltèques à des mises en scène prises par le photographe qui a, à son tour, suivi les instructions de ce manuel de l’assassinat.

 

A propos de l’auteur

 

George Selley (né en 1993) est un photographe, cinéaste et chercheur basé à Londres. Récemment diplômé en photojournalisme et photographie documentaire du London College of Communication, il enseigne la photographie au Fine Arts College de Camden. Son travail a été publié dans Dazed, Huck, le British Journal of Photography, Artpresse et FishEye Magazine, entre autres. En 2017, il reçoit le prix Carte Blanche Étudiants avec Paris Photo. La même année, il est finaliste du prix Schoeller, récompensant le meilleur photographe émergent. Il a été exposé en Allemagne, France, Italie, Espagne, Pologne, Ukraine, Pays-Bas, aux Etats-Unis et Royaume-Uni.