TERESKA AND HER PHOTOGRAPHER: A STORY

By Carole Naggar with Photographs by David “Chim” Seymour

Tereska and her photogrApher : a story

 

Order in french version

 

The Eyes Publishing, French Version

Russet Lederman, Inc., English Version

 

106 pages

72 images

Format 16,5 x 24 cm
Hardcover with silver foil stamped cover

Price : 39€

 

The press talks about it

Sitaudis

Collector Daily

 

Tereska and her photographer: a story

Tereska and her Photographer: A Story is a photobook that presents a fictional history by Carole Naggar about the extraordinary parallel lives of Magnum photographer and co-founder David “Chim” Seymour and Tereska Adwentowska, a young Polish girl who was the subject of Chim’s most famous photograph.

In September 1948, while on assignment for UNICEF to report on Europe’s children, Chim photographed Tereska at a primary school in Warsaw, Poland. Millions of readers saw Tereska’s picture when it was published in Life magazine in December of the same year, and were moved by her plight. She had received a shrapnel wound during the Wola massacre, and her image became emblematic of children’s fate during World War II. In the aftermath of the war, Chim tried to discover her full name and story. However, both Chim and Tereska met absurd deaths before ever meeting again.

 

Based on historical facts, Tereska and her Photographer is a fiction built as a small opera, where all the characters in Chim and Tereska’s lives bring their various voices to the narrative. They include: Tereska, Chim, Tereska’s parents (whose father was a Freedom Fighter during Warsaw’s Uprising), Doctor Stanislaw Wiktor Sierpiński (a survivor of Otwock’s massacre), Enrique Meneses, Jr. (a journalist who explored Chim and journalist Jean Roy’s deaths in Egypt), and several others. The book’s chronology is nonlinear, weaving vignettes from 1948 and the present with those from Chim’s youth and Tereska’s early childhood. David “Chim” Seymour’s photographs, along with several anonymous historical images, are inventiv

ely arranged by award-winning book designer Ricardo Báez with striking typography by Juan Mercerón.

 

About the author

Carole Naggar has worked as a writer, curator, educator, and photography historian since 1971. She was a co-founder and special projects editor of Pixelpress (1999-2006) and is a regular contributor to Aperture magazine (1988-present) and Time Lightbox (2013-2017). She is currently the series editor for the Magnum Legacy Biography series, publishing biographies of Eve Arnold, Bruce Davidson and Inge Morath. She has published biographies of George Rodger, David “Chim” Seymour and Werner Bischof.

Among her recent publications are Saul Leiter: In My Room (Steidl, 2018), Magnum Photobook: Catalogue Raison

, with Fred Ritchin (Phaidon, 2017), Voyage à Kyoto (PixelPress, 2015) and Bruno Barbey: Passages (La Martinière, 2015). Her memoir Récits Instantanés will be published in 2019. She is currently working on a book of photographs by George Rodger on the Bergen-Belsen camp.

 

David “Chim” Seymour (born Dawid Szymin, 1911–1956) is known for his images from the Spanish Civil War, for co-founding Magnum Photos with Henri Cartier-Bresson, Robert Capa and George Rodger, and for his project “Children of War” with UNICEF that captured the plight of children in the aftermath of World War II. Seymour became president of Magnum after Capa’s death in 1954 and held this post until his own death in 1956 by Egyptian machinegun in the aftermath of the Suez Crisis.

TERESKA ET SON PHOTOGRAPHE : UN RECIT

par Carole Naggar

avec les photographies de David « Chim » Seymour

Tereska et son Photographe : un recit

 

Commander

 

The Eyes Publishing, version française

Russet Lederman, Inc, version anglaise

 

106 pages

72 images

Format 16,5 x 24 cm
Couverture rigide avec impression en feuille d’argent estampée

Prix : 45€

Tereska et son photographe : un récit

 

Tereska et son photographe : un récit est un essai autour d’une histoire en partie fictive écrite par Carole Naggar sur les vies parallèles extraordinaires du photographe et cofondateur de Magnum, David «Chim» Seymour, et de Tereska Adwentowska, une jeune fille polonaise qui a fait l’objet de la photo la plus célèbre de Chim.

En septembre 1948, alors qu’il était affecté à l’UNICEF pour faire un reportage sur les enfants européens, Chim photographia Tereska dans une école primaire à Varsovie, en Pologne. Des millions de lecteurs ont vu la photo de Tereska lors de sa publication dans le magazine Life en décembre de la même année et ont été touchées par son sort. Lors du massacre de Wola, elle avait été blessée par un shrapnel et son image est devenue emblématique du destin des enfants pendant la Seconde Guerre mondiale. Au lendemain de la guerre, Chim essaya de découvrir son nom et son histoire. Cependant, Chim et Tereska sont morts avant de se revoir.

Sur la base de faits historiques, Tereska et son photographe est une fiction construite comme un petit opéra, où tous les personnages de la vie de Chim et Tereska apportent leurs différentes voix à la narration. Ils comprennent: Tereska, Chim, les parents de Tereska (dont le père était un combattant de la liberté pendant l’insurrection de Varsovie), le docteur Stanislaw Wiktor Sierpiński (un survivant du massacre d’Otwock), Enrique Meneses, Jr. (un journaliste qui a fait des recherches sur la mort de Chim et du journaliste Jean Roy en Egypte) et plusieurs autres. La chronologie du livre est non linéaire, tissant des vignettes de 1948 et du présent avec celles de la jeunesse de Chim et de la petite enfance de Tereska. Les photographies de David «Chim» Seymour, ainsi que plusieurs images historiques anonymes, sont arrangées de manière inventive par le designer de livres primés, Ricardo Báez, avec une typographie saisissante de Juan Mercerón.

 

A propos de l’auteur

Carole Naggar est poète, historienne de la photographie, conservatrice et peintre. Elle contribue régulièrement à Aperture et à Time Lightbox. Depuis 2014, elle est rédactrice en chef de la série Magnum Photos Legacy Biography.

 

David “Chim” Seymour (né Dawid Szymin, 1911-1956) est connu pour ses images de la guerre civile espagnole, pour sa co-fondation de Magnum Photos avec Henri Cartier-Bresson, Robert Capa et George Rodger, et pour son projet “Enfants de «Guerre» avec l’UNICEF qui a capturé le sort des enfants au lendemain de la Seconde Guerre mondiale. Après la mort de Capa en 1954, Seymour devint président de Magnum. Il occupa ce poste jusqu’à sa propre mort, en 1956, à la mitraillette égyptienne, à la suite de la crise de Suez.