Poste Restante

Christer Strömholm

POSTE RESTANTE

Christer Strömholm

 

Format 20×24 cm

120 pages

B/W photographs

French/English

45€

 

A position paper
in favour of marginality
and loneliness 

 

Originally published in 1967, Poste Restante has become one of the most collected photography books of the mid-twentieth century, ranking alongside the best-known publications of Robert Frank and Ed van der Elsken.

 

This photographic autobiography details the many journeys of the great photographer Christer Stromhölm around the world in a book constructed as an existentialist diary. Juxtaposing urbanity and the macabre, combining portraits and street scenes with abstract photographic fragments, the book uses metaphor and visual puns in an incessant flow of consciousness.

 

In its progression and conception, this book prefigures much of contemporary photographic publishing.

 

After a first revisited book by Christer Stromhölm (Les Amies de Place Blanche), The Eyes Publishing accompanies the rebirth of another essential work.

 

 


 

EXCERPT FROM A 1967 REVIEW

This is, to my knowledge, the first time that a publishing house (Norstedts) has renounced requiring a beautiful book to have a subject in the ordinary sense of the word, or at least to function on a social, documentary or simply decorative level.

 

Poste Restante is indeed as original and personal in its conception as a collection of contemporary lyric poetry, and almost as abstruse and inaccessible in its formal language. It also displays a sovereign contempt for the reader, who finds himself in front of a photo book without the slightest caption and whose raw, square format does not guide the eye and provides absolutely no guiding thread.

 

With this work, Christer Strömholm asserts himself as the one who perhaps, in the entire history of photography, has most authentically known how to use this medium as a symbolic or formal language to express intimate sensations, a subjective experience.

 

Strange and stifling, his visual universe shows not only an attraction for the perverse and the macabre, but also a stance in favour of marginality and loneliness: a deeply tolerant vision of humanity.

 

Sune Jonsson

(Based on a review in Expressen in 1967.)

Poste Restante

Christer Strömholm

POSTE RESTANTE

Christer Strömholm

Format 20×24 cm

120 pages

Photographies noir et blanc

Français/Anglais

45€

 

Une prise de position
en faveur de la marginalité
et de la solitude 

 

Initialement publié en 1967, Poste Restante est devenu l’un des livres de photographie les plus collectionnés à partir du milieu du XXe siècle, se classant à côté des publications les plus connues de Robert Frank et Ed van der Elsken.

 

Cette autobiographie photographique détaille de nombreux voyages du grand photographe Christer Stromhölm à travers le monde dans un livre construit comme un journal existentialiste. Juxtaposant l’urbanité et le macabre, combinant du portrait, des scènes de rue avec des fragments photographiques abstraits, le livre utilise la métaphore et le calembour visuel dans un flux incessant de la conscience.

 

Dans sa progression et dans sa conception, ce livre préfigure une grande partie de l’édition photographique contemporaine.

Après un premier livre revisité de Christer Stromhölm (Les Amies de Place Blanche), The Eyes Publishing accompagne la renaissance d’un autre ouvrage incontournalble.

 

 


 

extrait d’une critique de 1967

C’est, à ma connaissance, la première fois qu’une maison d’édition (Norstedts) renonce à exiger d’un beau livre qu’il ait un sujet au sens courant du terme, ou au moins qu’il fonctionne sur un plan social, documentaire ou simplement décoratif.

 

Poste Restante est en effet aussi original et personnel dans sa conception qu’un recueil de poésie lyrique contemporaine, et presque aussi abscons et inaccessible quant à son langage formel. Il affiche également un souverain mépris du lecteur, lequel se retrouve devant un livre de photos sans la moindre légende et dont le format brut, carré, ne guide pas l’œil et ne fournit absolument aucun fil conducteur.

 

Avec cet ouvrage, Christer Strömholm s’affirme comme celui qui peut-être, de toute l’histoire de la photographie, a su le plus authentiquement utiliser ce médium tel un langage symbolique ou formel pour exprimer des sensations intimes, un vécu subjectif.

 

Étrange et étouffant, son univers visuel ne dénote pas seulement une attirance pour le pervers et le macabre, mais aussi une prise de position en faveur de la marginalité et de la solitude : une vision profondément tolérante de l’humanité.

 

Sune Jonsson

(D’après une critique parue dans Expressen en 1967.)