TORNADES

Marina Gadonneix

TORNADES
MARINA GADONNEIX 

March 2022

Available in limited edition

 

Book published as part of

Prix Niepce 2020,

with the support of

Picto Foundation

and Janvier.

 

Current edition 

22 x 33 cm

88 pages

Languages: French and English 

Images: b&w photographs 

Text: Marcelline Delbecq 

39€

 

ISBN: 979-10-92727-48-7

TORNADES

MARINA GADONNEIX

 

This book is published within the framework of the Prix Niepce, with which The Eyes Publishing is associated since 2019. The publisher offers the winner the publication of an artist’s edition limited to 400 copies. It is supported by Picto Foundation.

In 2020, the Prix Niépce was awarded to Marina Gadonneix.

 

From the series “Phénomènes” that the artist pursued between 2014 and 2019, “Tornades” stages and reconstructs these isolated wind vortices that often make the news. Produced in a scientific research facility dedicated to the analysis and reconstruction of natural phenomena, the photographs gathered in this book draw inspiration from the scientific and the spectacular to extract an evanescent form of disorder, a kind of poetic atmosphere and enveloping atmosphere. The voluptuousness of the milky wind in contrast with the austerely black background, the delicacy of the grey levels sketching the architectural models, everything is highlighted by the artist in such a way as to let us be absorbed by the magic, the rhythm and the attraction of these extraordinary natural phenomena.

 

 

© Marina Gadonneix, courtesy of Galerie Christophe Gaillard

 

A photographer fascinated by the reverse side of photographic images, or more precisely by the hollow, erased device that invites a particular representation, the artist has been thwarting so-called documentary photography since her first photographic series. Instead of photographing works of art, she shows us the invisible devices (plinths, backdrops, etc.) that are in the process of disappearing as soon as the expected photograph is taken.

The inlay backgrounds of film studios become these blue or green monochrome landscapes, perceptual spaces close to the immateriality of James Turrell’s immersive luminous pieces.

 

Materiality and immateriality, lights and colored spectres, but also presence and absence, reality and fiction are recurring photographic dualities that will be found in “After the image” and will discover their artistic maturity in the “Phenomena” series, images of what appears, but also of what can hypnotise the gaze and sharpen the imagination as much by the incomprehension of what is seen as by the conceivability of the unknown.

Thus, these latest images, resulting from research work carried out in scientific laboratories that reconstitute the operations of natural phenomena, become spaces of projections as poetic as the names of the scientific objects of which they are the theaters of our imaginations… supernova, dark matter, vortex….

 

© Marina Gadonneix, courtesy of Galerie Christophe Gaillard

 

In the introduction, the text of the photographer and writer Marcelline Delbecq describes with force and effectiveness the apprehension of this threatening moment of the catastrophe. 

 

“We have to tell ourselves that in this place there was something and that suddenly there was nothing left, in an extreme speed and slowness, as if in the middle of sleep someone had erased our memory. There was something, a place, lives, gigantic towers and tiny plants, and all that was shifted from one instant to another, or rather from one time to another, because the instant was not so brief, as if it had slowed down, on the contrary, a before that became after, extended in a duration that no one tried to calculate, because it was necessary to understand what was happening, to find a shelter. Something was there and then not. It was night, a black night such as only exists in certain remote places, deep in the plains, where only the glow of the stars makes you feel the presence of the sky above you – their lights so frail, as if ready to break, to fade away”. Marcelline Delbecq

 

ABOUT Marina Gadonneix

Marina Gadonneix was born in 1977 in Paris, where she lives and works. A graduate of the École nationale supérieure de la photographie d’Arles, Marina Gadonneix got HSBC Photography award in 2006 and Dummy Book award from Luma Foundation and the Rencontres d’Arles in 2018. Her work has been exhibited in many institutions in Europe and the United States, particularly at the Centre Photographique d’Île-de-France, the Rencontres photographiques d’Arles, the Kunsthalle of Tübingen, the Point du Jour, in Cherbourg, and MOMENTA | Biennale de l’image at the Musée de Joliette, Canada. The artist is represented by Christophe Gaillard gallery.

 

© Marina Gadonneix, courtesy of Galerie Christophe Gaillard

 

Press on Tornades

 

Picto Foundation

TORNADES

Marina Gadonneix

TORNADES
MARINA GADONNEIX 

Mars 2022

Disponible en édition limitée

 

Édition courante  

22 x 33 cm

88 pages

Langues : français et anglais 

Images : photographies n&b 

Texte : Marcelline Delbecq 

39€

 

Ouvrage édité dans le cadre

du Prix Niepce 2020,

avec le soutien

de Picto Foundation

et Janvier.

 

ISBN : 979-10-92727-48-7

TORNADES

MARINA GADONNEIX

 

Cet ouvrage est édité dans le cadre du Prix Niépce auquel The Eyes Publishing est associé depuis 2019. La maison d’édition offre au lauréat ou la lauréate la publication d’une édition d’artiste limitée à 400 exemplaires. La réalisation de l’ouvrage bénéficie du soutien de Picto Foundation.

En 2020, le Prix Niépce a été décerné par l’association Gens d’Images à Marina Gadonneix.

 

Issue de la série « Phénomènes » que l’artiste a poursuivi entre 2014 et 2019, Tornades met en scène et reconstitue ces tourbillons de vent isolés qui defraient souvent la chronique.

Réalisées dans un lieu de recherche scientifique consacré à l’analyse et la reconstitution de phénomènes naturels, les photographies réunies dans ce livre s’inspirent du scientifique et du spectaculaire pour en extraire une forme trouble évanescent, une espèce d’atmosphère poétique et enveloppante. La volupté du vent laiteux en contraste avec l’arrière-plan austèrement noir, la délicatesse des niveaux de gris esquissant les maquettes d’architectures, tout est ici mis en lumière par l’artiste de sorte de nous laisser absorber par la magie, le rythme et l’attraction de ces phénomènes naturels extraordinaires.

 

© Marina Gadonneix, courtesy Galerie Christophe Gaillard

 

Photographe passionnée par l’envers des images photographiques, ou plus exactement par le dispositif en creux, effacé, qui convie à telle ou telle représentation, l’artiste depuis ses premières séries photographiques, déjoue la photographie dite documentaire. 

Au lieu de photographier des œuvres d’art, elle nous montre les dispositifs (socles, toiles de fond…) invisibles, en instance de disparition sitôt que la photographie attendue sera faite.

Des fonds d’incrustation des studios de cinéma deviennent alors ces Landscapes monochromes bleus ou verts, espaces perceptuels proches de l’immatérialité des pièces lumineuses immersives de James Turrell.

 

Matérialité et immatérialité, lumières et spectres colorés, mais aussi présence et absence, réalité et fiction sont des dualités photographiques récurrentes qui se retrouveront dans « After the image » et découvriront leur maturité artistique dans la série « Phénomènes », images de ce qui apparaît, mais aussi de ce qui peut hypnotiser le regard et aiguiser l’imaginaire tant par l’incompréhension du vu que le concevable de l’inconnu.

Ainsi, ces images de la série « Tornades » issues d’un travail de recherche mené au sein de laboratoires scientifiques qui reconstituent les opérations de phénomènes naturels, deviennent ces espaces de projections aussi poétiques que les noms des objets scientifiques dont elles sont les théâtres de nos imaginaires… supernova, matière noire, vortex….

 

© Marina Gadonneix, courtesy Galerie Christophe Gaillard

 

En introduction, le texte de la photographe et écrivaine Marcelline Delbecq décrit avec force et efficacité l’appréhension de ce moment menaçant de la catastrophe. 

 

« Il faut se dire qu’à cet endroit il y avait quelque chose et que tout à coup il n’y eût plus rien, dans une rapidité et de lenteur extrêmes, comme si en plein sommeil quelqu’un avait effacé notre mémoire. Il y avait quelque chose, un lieu, des vies, des tours gigantesques et des plantes minuscules et tout cela a basculé d’un instant à l’autre, disons plutôt d’un temps à un autre car l’instant ne fût pas si bref, comme ralenti au contraire, un avant devenu après, étendu dans une durée que personne n’a cherché à calculer car il fallait comprendre ce qui arrivait, trouver un abri. Quelque chose était là puis plus. Il faisait nuit, une nuit noire comme elles n’existent qu’à certains endroits reculés, au fond du fond des plaines, où seules les lueurs des étoiles font sentir la présence du ciel au-dessus de soi — leurs lumières si frêles, comme prêtes à se briser, à s’éteindre ». Marcelline Delbecq

 

À PROPOS DE MARINA GADONNEIX

Marina Gadonneix est née en 1977 à Paris, elle vit et travaille à Paris. Diplômée de l’École Nationale Supérieure de la Photographie d’Arles, Marina Gadonneix obtient le prix HSBC pour la photographie en 2006 et le Dummy Book Award de la fondation Luma et des Rencontres d’Arles en 2018. Son travail a été exposé dans de nombreuses institutions en Europe et aux États-Unis, notamment au Centre Photographique d’Île-de-France, à la Kunsthalle de Tübingen ou encore au Point du Jour, à Cherbourg, aux Rencontres Photographiques d’Arles et récemment à MOMENTA | Biennale de l’image au Musée de Joliette, Canada. L’artiste est représentée par la galerie Christophe Gaillard.

 

© Marina Gadonneix, courtesy Galerie Christophe Gaillard

 

La presse en parle

 

Picto Foundation