Gröna Lund

Anders Petersen

Gröna Lund

Anders Petersen

Text by Arnaud Cottebrune

 

Format 21×28 cm

96 pages

B/W photographs

45€

 

See as well the Collector Edition
30 copies, with a signed and numbered 18×24 cm print.

Gröna Lund

 

 

Gröna Lund is a reprint of Anders Petersen’s first book Gröna Lund om människör pa ett nöjesfalt published by Fyra Förläggare in Stockholm in 1973.

 

Following on from Café Lehmitz, this series is also produced in a closed world, one of Sweden’s oldest amusement parks dating from 1883, located on the island of Djurgarden in Stockholm.

 

In this rereading of the 1973 edition, Anders Petersen shows the evolution of his approach. A more intense selection, a more organic energy leads Gröna Lund towards that almost animal sensibility that is reflected in her more recent works. A bitter and nervous style, a selection of quieter and more melancholic images, evacuating the euphoria of the party.

 

A first edition of this book was published in 300 signed and numbered copies, on the occasion of the exhibition at Galerie VU’ of period prints dating from the first edition. A second unsigned edition is now available.

 

 

 


 

PREFACE

All distinguished in long, thick, starry, floating capes, like blind men who finally, after a thousand years of silence, touch our faces, arms and hands.

 

Elise is here. Her denim jacket glides along her bare shoulders, her skin full to the brim, her estrogen blends with her saturated vanilla scent, ready to disintegrate. Further on, red and white spirals draw us up to the tops of tall drumsticks. Madeleine, there’s nothing we can do about it. Not you, not me. That’s the way it is, it all begins when it ends. At high altitude, wagons attack turns as if to resurrect death. A whole life spent there, without realizing it, without admitting it. You can’t be serious when you’re alive.

 

The sirens are tearing us from our wiggling hips, Jim must have won something, somewhere. People are tiny under his feet. The city as seen from here is promise and threat in the same belly. Lili, come here. Stop it, you know I don’t like it when you talk about that. But it’s not me talking about it, it’s here, in front of us. We live straddling Christmas trees flickering in the dark. Stop it, I told you. The lights go on and off at breakneck speed. Downstairs, it’s swarming like a kaleidoscope. Ladies, ladies, gentlemen!

 

What would we have done if we’d have known sooner? I don’t know. I don’t know. I don’t know. I don’t know. I don’t know. While they’re operating their oblongs like we’re cutting up a movie set, the guys come in packs. Whoever walks away from it always has a good reason to do so. Often he comes back with his shoes glittering with urine, another pint in his hand, with a vengeful smile on his face. Are we making things up? I’m sure we have.

 

Big black flies are roaring, making geometric flights disturbed, panicked by all that sugar and honey, beers and then sweaty foreheads. I wouldn’t want to die, at least not like this, right now.

 

Hans and Mathilde dance, incredulous and quiet, towards a learned tenderness. The smell of frying settles delicately in his bun. As soon as they are assigned, the cuddly toys mutate into totems. We make them play our comedy. We discover new breaths with the joyful jostling and restless laughter. The boy, with his arms glued to his body, his gaze clutching the breasts of this girl who is completely bathed in the arms of her thug, has stopped breathing. Between him and this body, nothing exists anymore, except his hair, which is too long. Over there, there is a hole in the fence through which only he would pass if anything went wrong. We win every time.

 

Electrified galaxies open up to the eyes of those who look at them. Here there are no losers. The brakes on the merry-go-rounds squeak when the dancers’ floorboards slam. Cigarette smoke, unsubdued firecrackers, loudspeakers out of tune and that infant sleeping in his pram. Hans, will we come back next year?

 

Now we smile only out of desire, celebrating a soothing nonsense. Hordes of gigantic horses bend like demons, ridden by women in blinding metal armour, and pierce the crowded alleys without anyone paying attention. Dust floods our glasses and plates, no matter how deformed we are, and we take our waltzes back where we left them. The apocalypse will wait.

 

A. Cottebrune


Discover

Tiksi

Evgenia Arbugaeva observes the peculiarities of the far north through the eyes and games of a little girl.

 

35€

Discover Order

Les Amies de Place Blanche

Re-edition of the eponymous book published in 1983 around the marginalized people of the Parisian nightlife of the 50s and 60s.

 

45€

Discover Order

Gröna Lund

Anders Petersen

Anders Petersen

 

Texte d’Arnaud Cottebrune

Format 21×28 cm

96 pages

Photographies noir et blanc

Imprimé sur Munken Lynx

45€

 

Voir aussi l’Édition Collector
30 exemplaires, avec un tirage 18×24 cm signé et numéroté.

Gröna Lund

 

 

Gröna Lund est la réédition du premier livre d’Anders Petersen Gröna Lund om människör pa ett nöjesfalt publié par Fyra Förläggare à Stockholm en 1973.

 

À la suite du Café Lehmitz, cette série est elle aussi produite dans un univers clos, l’un des plus vieux parcs d’attraction suédois datant de 1883, situé sur l’île de Djurgarden à Stockholm.

 

Dans cette relecture de l’édition de 1973, Anders Petersen manifeste l’évolution de son approche. Une sélection plus intense, une énergie plus organique conduisent Gröna Lund vers cette sensibilité presque animale qui transparaît dans ses ouvrages plus récents. Un style âpre et nerveux, une sélection d’images plus silencieuses et mélancoliques, évacuant l’euphorie de la fête.

 

Une première édition de ce livre a été édité à 300 exemplaires signés et numérotés, à l’occasion de l’exposition à la Galerie VU’ de tirages d’époque datant de la première édition. Une seconde édition non signée est désormais disponible.

 

 


 

Préface

Tous distingués dans de longues capes flottantes, épaisses et étoilées, comme des aveugles qui se retrouvent enfin, après un silence de mille ans, nous nous touchons le visage, les bras et les mains.

 

Elise est là. Sa veste en jean glisse le long de ses épaules nues, la peau pleine à craquer, ses œstrogènes se mélangent à son parfum de vanille saturé, prête à la désintégration. Plus loin, des spirales rouges et blanches nous happent vers les sommets de grands pilonnes. Madeleine, on n’y peut rien. Ni toi, ni moi. C’est comme ça, tout commence quand ça se termine. En altitude, des wagons attaquent des virages comme pour ressusciter la mort. Toute une vie passée là, sans s’en rendre compte, sans se l’avouer. On n’est pas sérieux quand on est vivants.

 

Les sirènes nous arrachent à nos déhanchements, Jim a du gagner quelque chose, quelque part. Les gens sont tout petits sous ses pieds. La ville vue d’ici, c’est la promesse et la menace dans le même ventre. Lili, viens voir. Arrête, tu sais bien que je n’aime pas quand tu parles de ça. Mais ce n’est pas moi qui en parle, c’est là, sous nos yeux. On vit chevauchant des arbres de noël qui clignotent dans le noir. Arrête je t’ai dit. Les lumières s’allument et s’éteignent à toute vitesse. En bas, ça fourmille comme dans un kaléidoscope. Mesdames, mesdemoiselles, messieurs !

 

Qu’aurions-nous fait si nous l’avions su plus tôt ? Je ne sais pas. Alors qu’elles actionnent leurs oblongues comme on découpe un décor de cinéma, les gars s’amènent en meutes. Celui qui s’en éloigne à toujours une bonne raison de le faire. Souvent il revient les chaussures scintillantes d’urine, une autre pinte à la main, auréolé d’un sourire vengeur. Aurions-nous inventé des choses ? Sûrement.

 

De grosses mouches noires rugissent, effectuant des vols géométriques perturbés, affolées par tout ce sucre et ce miel, ces bières et puis ces fronts en sueur. Je ne voudrais pas crever, enfin pas comme ça, là, maintenant.

 

Hans et Mathilde dansent, incrédules et tranquilles, vers une tendresse apprise. L’odeur de friture se dépose délicatement dans son chignon. Dès leur attribution, les peluches mutent pour devenir des totems. Nous leur faisons jouer notre comédie. On découvre de nouvelles haleines au gré des bousculades joyeuses et des rires agités. Le garçon, les bras collés au corps, le regard agrippé aux seins de cette fille qui baigne toute entière dans les bras de son voyou, a cessé de respirer. Entre ce corps et lui, plus rien n’existe, sauf ses cheveux trop longs. Là-bas, il y a un trou dans le grillage dans lequel lui seul passerait si ça tournait mal. A tous les coups on gagne.

 

Des galaxies électrifiées s’offrent aux yeux de ceux qui les regardent. Ici, pas de perdant. Les freins des manèges grincent quand le parquet des danseurs claque. Fumée de cigarette, pétards insoumis, haut-parleurs mal réglés et ce nourrisson qui dort dans son landau. Hans, reviendrons-nous l’année prochaine ?

 

A présent, nous ne sourions plus que par désir, célébrant une absurdité apaisante. Des hordes de chevaux gigantesques se cambrent comme des démons, montés par des femmes revêtues d’armures métalliques aveuglantes, et percent les allées bondées sans que personne n’y prête attention. La poussière inonde nos verres et nos assiettes, qu’importent nos difformités, reprenons nos valses là où nous les avions laissées. L’apocalypse attendra.

 

A. Cottebrune


Lire la suite


Découvrir

Tiksi

Evgenia Arbugaeva

30,5x22cm

38 pages

DécouvrirCommander

Les Amies de place Blanche

Christer Stömholm

22x29 cm

212 pages

DécouvrirCommander