The Eyes #7

Autumn 2016

Format 21 cm x 28 cm

160 pages

25 €

(sold out)

the eyes #7

Inside Poland

 

 

As claimed by Krzysztof Candrowicz in this issue, the Polish art scene has long been acknowledged interna- tionally for its music, its theatre, it literature, its cinema and its plastic or graphic arts. And photography has strangely remained on the side, with the notable excep- tion of the historical figure incarnated by Stanisław Ignacy Witkiewicz. Even a giant such as conceptual photographer and video artist Józef Robakowski, inter- viewed in these pages and exhibited worldwide since the 1970s, does not receive such deserved recognition.

 

In the younger generation, emerging names include Rafał Milach and his magnificently conceived books, or Marta Zgierska, the 2016 recipient of the HSBC Prize for Photography.

 

The Eyes thus suspected that this vast country was like- ly to offer a contemporary scene that we knew little about. We were considering Eastern Europe for some time, and the rise to power of the ultra-conservative and euro-sceptical PiS party in the autumn of 2015 finally convinced us to reach out and breathe in some of Poland’s air.

We travelled to Poland last spring and visited galleries, museums and foundations. We met artists, critics and curators, and discovered passionate people entirely dedicated to their projects, but many of whom were worried about the shift in public cultural policy.

We experienced a nation profoundly marked by the double experience of Nazism and Communism. Most – if not all – of our contacts mentioned it.

We have called upon the top experts on Poland and Polish art for this serious and in-depth exploration: Krzysztof Candrowicz, mentioned above, but also Karolina Lewandowska, curator of photography at the Centre Pompidou, curator Paweł Szypulski and writer Jean-Yves Potel. Theatre journalist Fabienne Arvers met with stage director Krzysztof Warlikowski in War- saw for us. And Klaudia Podsiadło shares her intimate knowledge of her country.

Also, on the occasion of the exhibition “Provoke: Between Protest and Performance, Photography in Japan 1960–1975” at LE BAL, we have attempted to decipher the historical importance and heritage left by the Japanese magazine published from 1968 to 1969. Even the title of the exhibition echoes what we have felt in Poland.

 


Read more

 

 

 


SUMMURAY

PORTFOLIO

Negative Book

Aneta Grzeszykowska

 

SNEAK PEEK

Elina Brotherus
Hannah Watson

Anahita-Ghabaian Ettehadieh

Louise Clements

 

INSIDE POLAND

INTERVIEW

Image above all

with Jozef Robakowski

 

PERSPECVTIVE

Focus on Pilish Photography in the world

by Krzysztof Candrowicz

 

FOCUS

Uncertainties of “good change”

by Jean-Yves Potel

 

Greetings from Auschwitz

Pawel Szypulski

INTERVIEW

Krzysztof Warlikowski

 

FOCUS

Photography and private action

 

POLAND PHOTO GUIDE

 

PARIS PHOTO

Paris Photo celebrates its 20th anniversary

by Gisèle Tavernier

 

Five years of BMW Residences

by Gisèle Tavernier

 

Renewal for the Prix Niépce

by Valentin Marceau

BIBLIOMANIA

Conversation with Ryuichi Kaneko

by Rémi Coignet

 

Reviews

Diane Arbus :
In the Beginning

Scandalous

Foto-Forum

End.

Provoke : Between Protest and Performance

 

Exhibition

Provoke au BAL

by Diane Dufour

 

A new look at photography and language

around Provoke magazine

 

 


selected articles

Interview, The Eyes #7

15/11/2018

Conversation with Józef Robakowski

Read More 

The Eyes #7

15/11/2018

photography and private action

Read More 

The Eyes #7

15/11/2018

Conversation with Ryuichi Kaneko

Read More 

The Eyes #7

15/11/2018

Greetings from Auschwitz

Read More

The Eyes #7

Automne 2016

Format 21 cm x 28 cm

160 pages

25 €

(épuisé)

the eyes #7

Inside Poland

 

 

Comme le remarque dans ce numéro Krzysztof Candrowicz, la scène artistique polonaise est depuis longtemps largement reconnue de par le monde que ce soit la musique, le théâtre, la littérature, le cinéma ou les arts plastiques. Étrangement, la photographie est plutôt restée à l’écart de ce mouvement à l’exception notable de la figure historique Stanisław Ignacy Witkiewicz. Même un géant tel que le photographe et vidéaste conceptuel Józef Robakowski, interviewé dans ce numéro, exposé dans le monde entier dès les années 1970, n’a pas acquis la reconnaissance qu’il devrait avoir.

Dans la jeune génération, on trouve cependant quelques noms émergents tels que Rafal Milach, connu pour ses livres magnifiquement conçus, ou Marta Zgierska, lauréate cette année du Prix HSBC pour la Photographie.

 

 

The Eyes avait donc l’intuition que, dans ce grand pays, devait sans doute se développer une scène contemporaine que nous connaissions mal. Depuis quelque temps, nous avions l’envie de braquer notre regard sur l’Europe de l’Est et l’arrivée au pouvoir, à l’automne 2015, du parti PiS, ultraconservateur et eurosceptique, nous a finalement convaincu d’aller humer l’air de la Pologne.

 

Nous y avons voyagé au printemps dernier, visitant galeries, musées et fondations. Nous y avons rencontré artistes, critiques ou curateurs et fait la connaissance de gens passionnés, entièrement investis dans leurs projets, mais pour beaucoup inquiets de l’in- flexion de la politique culturelle gouvernementale.

 

Nous y avons fait l’expérience d’une nation profondément marquée par la double expérience du nazisme et du communisme. Tous nos interlocuteurs ou presque l’ont évoquée.

 

Pour exposer avec sérieux et profondeur ces sujets, nous avons fait appel aux meilleurs spécialistes de la Pologne et de l’art polonais. Krzysztof Candrowicz déjà évoqué, mais aussi Karolina Lewandowska, conservatrice de la photo au centre Pompidou, le curateur Pawel Szypulski ou l’écrivain Jean-Yves Potel. Fabienne Arvers journaliste théâtre a rencontré pour nous, à Varsovie, le metteur en scène Krzysztof Warlikowski. Klaudia Podsiadlo nous a fait partager sa connaissance intime de son pays.

 

Par ailleurs, à l’occasion de l’exposition « Provoke : entre contestation et performance, la photographie au Japon 1960-1975 » au BAL, nous avons tenté de dé- chiffrer l’importance historique et l’héritage de cette revue japonaise des années 1968-1969. Et le titre même de cette exposition fait écho à ce que nous avons ressenti en Pologne.


Lire la suite

 

 

 


Sommaire

PORTFOLIO

Negative Book

Aneta Grzeszykowska

 

COUPS D’ŒIL

Elina Brotherus
Hannah Watson

Anahita-Ghabaian Ettehadieh

Louise Clements

 

INSIDE POLAND

INTERVIEW

L’image par dessus tout

avec Jozef Robakowski

 

PERSPECVTIVE

Focus sur la photographie polonaise dans le monde

par Krzysztof Candrowicz

 

FOCUS

Incertitudes du « bon changement »

par Jean-Yves Potel

 

Greetings from Auschwitz

Pawel Szypulski

INTERVIEW

Krzysztof Warlikowski

 

FOCUS

De la photographie et de l’action privée

 

POLAND PHOTO GUIDE

 

PARIS PHOTO

Paris Photo fête ses 20 ans

par Gisèle Tavernier

 

Cinq ans de Résidences BMW

par Gisèle Tavernier

 

Du Renouveau pour le Prix Niépce

par Valentin Marceau

BIBLIOMANIA

Conversation avec Ryuichi Kaneko

par Rémi Coignet

 

Reviews

Diane Arbus :
In the Beginning

Scandalous

Foto-Forum

End.

Provoke : Between Protest and Performance

 

Exposition

Provoke au BAL

par Diane Dufour

 

Un nouveau regard sur la photographie et le langage

autour de la revue Provoke

 

 


Articles sélectionnés

Interview, The Eyes #7

15/11/2018

Conversation avec Józef Robakowski

Lire la suite 

The Eyes #7

15/11/2018

De la photographie et de l’action privée

Lire la suite 

The Eyes #7

15/11/2018

Conversation avec Ryuichi Kaneko 

Lire la suite 

The Eyes #7

15/11/2018

Greetings from Auschwitz

Lire la suite