SHOP

Limited Edition // Équation du Temps by Raphaël Dallaporta

Limited Edition

Format: 17 x 24 cm French style

Design : Kummer & Herrman
Pages: 376 pages
Images: color
Language : French

Price: 170€ until October 15th  // Full price : 200€

A limited edition of 100 copies: signed book + inkjet print on Japanese paper signed and numbered.

 

Publication Date: October 2020

Available for pre-order

200 170

Become a member of The Eyes Club and benefit from discounts!

Discover Club Offer

L’Equation du Temps (The Equation of Time) is an artistic and scientific experiment initiated in 2018 at the Paris Observatory by photographer Raphaël Dallaporta. Conducted jointly with researchers from the Syrte (Système de Références Temps-Espaces) of Paris Observatory, the experiment “Equation of Time” aims to verify the differences between the true solar day, indicated by sundials, and mean solar time, indicated by clocks. While the meridian of true solar time is a straight line, the meridian of mean time has the shape of an elongated figure eight.

 

Every day, according to an automated protocol, a picture of the Sun is taken at the same time in the Cassini room built in 1671. The accumulation over the year reveals the curve in 8 of the equation of time ∞ represented by the image of the Sun on the Earth.

Each of the first 365 pages of the book is centered on the position of the image of the Sun during its passage at the local mean noon in the Cassini room of Paris Observatory. The data of the shot are specified on each page.

 

Conceived as a playful Flip Book object, the reader can see the curve forming over the pages. At the end of the book, Denis Savoie, scientific advisor and associate researcher at SYRTHE, explains the principles of the equation of time.

 

Equation of Time is designed by Kummer & Herrman and published by The Eyes Publishing in collaboration with Picto Fondation in the framework of the 2019 Niepce Prize. 

Weight0.9 kg

SHOP

Édition limitée // Équation du Temps de Raphaël Dallaporta

Edition Limitée

Edition limitée à 100 exemplaires

livre signé;  tirage jet d’encre sur papier japonais, signé et numéroté. 

 

Format: 17 x 24 cm 

Design : Kummer & Herrman
Pages: 376 pages
Images: couleur
Language : français

 

Price: 200€ / offre de lancement à 170€ jusqu’au 15 Octobre

 

existe en édition courante

Prix : 39€

200 170

Devenez membre du Club The Eyes
et profitez de réductions !

Découvrir les offres Club

L’Équation du Temps restitue une expérience à la fois artistique et scientifique initiée en 2018 à l’Observatoire de Paris par le photographe Raphaël Dallaporta. Menée conjointement avec les chercheurs du Syrte (Système de Références Temps-Espaces) de l’Observatoire de Paris, l’expérience « Equation du temps » vise à vérifier les inégalités du jour solaire vrai indiqué par les cadrans solaires à la différences du temps solaire moyen, indiqué par les horloges. Alors que la méridienne du temps solaire vrai est une droite, la méridienne du temps moyen à la forme d’un huit allongé, la courbe en 8.

 

Chaque jour, selon un protocole automatisé, est réalisé à la même heure une prise de vue de l’image du Soleil dans la salle Cassini édifiée en 1671. L’accumulation sur l’année révèle la courbe en 8 de l’équation du temps ∞ figuré par l’image du Soleil sur la Terre.

Chacune des 365 premières pages de l’ouvrage est centrée sur la position de l’image du Soleil lors de son passage au midi moyen local dans la salle Cassini de l’Observatoire de Paris. Les données de la prise de vue sont précisées sur chaque page.

Conçu comme un objet ludique Flip Book, le lecteur peut voir la courbe se former comme un flip book. Denis Savoie, conseiller scientifique et chercheur associé au SYRTHE, expose à la fin du livre les principes de l’équation du temps.

 

L’ouvrage a été réalisé dans le cadre du Prix Niépce 2019 par le studio Kummer & Herrman

et publié par The Eyes Publishing en collaboration avec Picto Fondation. 

Poids0.9 kg