EQUATION OF TIME

Raphaël Dallaporta

 

 

EQUATION of time
RAPHAËL DALLAPORTA

Publication : November 2020

 

Current edition

17 x 24 cm
376 pages
French

Price: €39.

 

ISBN 979-10-92727-39-5

 

Available in limited edition

100 copies

Edition signed and numbered, piezographic print, 24 x 70 cm on Awagami Kozo paper, 70 g

Price: €200

 

Order limited edition

 

Le Monde wrote about it

equation of time

raphaël DAllAporta

 

Equation of time is an artistic and scientific experiment initiated in 2018 at the Paris Observatory by photographer Raphaël Dallaporta. Conducted jointly with researchers from the Syrte (Système de Références Temps-Espaces) of Paris Observatory, the experiment “Equation of Time” aims to verify the differences between the true solar day, indicated by sundials, and mean solar time, indicated by clocks. While the meridian of true solar time is a straight line, the meridian of mean time has the shape of an elongated figure eight.

 

Every day for a year, at the exact same time, Raphaël Dallaporta took a picture of the Sun entering the Cassini room, which was built in 1671. The accumulation over the year reveals the curve in 8 of the equation of time ∞ represented by the image of the Sun on the Earth.

 

about the equation of time

The equation of time is a notion that reflects the inequalities of solar time. The notion of “mean solar time” corresponds to an ideal, fictitious time, where the sun returns in the same direction after 24 hours. Every day when the Sun is visible, the Sun passes at the meridian of the observatory, in this Cassini room. We can see this spot of light that cuts the Paris meridian at solar noon.

 

 

about the book

Each of the first 365 pages of this book is centered on the position of the image of the Sun during its passage at the local mean noon in the Cassini room of Paris Observatory (48°50’11”N – 02°20’14”E). The pictures were taken by Raphaël Dallaporta as close as possible to the eyecup located at 9.933 m south of the meridian. From this point of view, the image of the Sun appears circular, the perspective reducing the variations of its elliptical projection during the year. In the following pages, astronomer and science historian Denis Savoie explains the principles of the equation of time, based on the plot of the figure-eight curve when the Earth’s revolution around the Sun at the end of a year is completed.

 

Conceived as a playful flip book by the Kummer & Herrman studio, the reader discovers the figure-eight curve that forms over the pages.

 

In the afterword, the astronomer Denis Savoie explains the principles of the equation of time, based on the curve of the figure of eight, the revolution of the Earth around the Sun after one year. 

 

The book was published as part of the Prix Niépce Gens d’Images, of which The Eyes Publishing has been a patron since 2019, in collaboration with the Picto Foundation. 

 

 

 

 

about the author

Raphaël Dallaporta, born in 1980, has developed a work that has been critically acclaimed for the rigor of its shooting protocols, its documentary conviction and the relevance of its installations in which unusual connections are established between history, science, art and technology. Each of his projects, seeking to make visible phenomena, objects or territories, respectively hidden, taboo or inaccessible, are finalized by a monographic publication. Raphaël Dallaporta bases his approach on a scientific approach in order to question first of all the empathy generated by social subjects, and to play with the often varied statuses of a photographic image. All his work follows a movement that extracts photography from its documentary condition to summon a symbolic vision.

 

He is the winner of the ICP Infinity Award 2010 in NewYork and the Paul Huf Award 2011 of the Foam in Amsterdam. After having been a resident at the Académie de France in Rome – Villa Medici in 2014-2015, he realized the project Chauvet-Pont d’Arc, l’inappropriable, published in 2016 by Xavier Barral and exhibited in Kyoto, Japan and at the Centquatre-Paris.

 

Raphaël Dallaporta is represented by the Jean-Kenta Gauthier gallery, which was supposed before the lockdown to organize an exhibition the project and the book from November 21 to December 19, 2020. New dates to be communicated soon. 

 

VIDEO INTERVIEW // Raphaël Dallaporta & Denis Savoie 

Download press release

 


selected articles

TERESKA AND HER PHOTOGRAPHER: A STORY

A photobook  featuring a fictional story by Carole Naggar about the extraordinary parallel lives of Magnum photographer and co-founder David "Chim" Seymour and Tereska Adwentowska, a young Polish girl who was the main subject of one of her most famous photographs.

 

45€

Discover Order

FRANCIS BACON // ANTOINE D’AGATA

The book establishes an artistic parallel between the contemporary work of photographer Antoine d'Agata and the expressionist painting of painter Francis Bacon.

45€

Discover Order

Conversations, Vol.3

This third volume of Rémi Coignet's Conversations focuses on photographers who are particularly interested in editing and editorial work.

 

20€

Discover Order


Découvrir

FRANCIS BACON // ANTOINE D’AGATA

The book establishes an artistic parallel between the contemporary work of photographer Antoine d'Agata and the expressionist painting of painter Francis Bacon.

45€

Discover Order

The Eyes #11

TRANSGALACTIC

Photography. Gender. Transition.
Carte Blanche to SMITH & PITON

 

Discover Order

Conversations, Vol.3

This third volume of Rémi Coignet's Conversations focuses on photographers who are particularly interested in editing and editorial work.

 

20€

Discover Order

12/09/2018

The Eyes Club

Read More

ÉQUATION DU TEMPS

Raphaël Dallaporta

 

 

EQUATION DU TEMPS
DE RAPHAËL DALLAPORTA

Parution : Novembre 2020

 

Édition courante

17 x 24 cm à la française
376 pages
Français

Prix: 39 €.

ISBN 979-10-92727-39-5

 

Disponible en édition limitée

100 exemplaires

Tirage signé et numéroté, impression piezographique, 24 x 70 cm sur papier Awagami Kozo, 70 g

Prix : 200 €

 

Commander l’édition limitée

 

Devenez membre de The Eyes Club et bénéficiez de 5% sur toutes les éditions de The Eyes publishing

équation DU TEMPS

 

raphaël DAllAporta

 

Équation du Temps restitue une expérience à la fois artistique et scientifique initiée en 2018 à l’Observatoire de Paris par le photographe Raphaël Dallaporta. Menée conjointement avec les chercheurs du Syrte (Système de Références Temps-Espaces) de l’Observatoire de Paris, l’expérience « Équation du Temps » vise à vérifier les différences entre le temps solaire vrai, indiqué par les cadrans solaires, et le temps solaire moyen, indiqué par les horloges. Alors que le méridien du temps solaire vrai est une ligne droite, le méridien du temps moyen a la forme d’un huit allongé.

 

Pendant un an, Raphaël Dallaporta a réalisé tous les jours au midi moyen une prise de vue de l’image du soleil entrant dans la salle Cassini de l’Observatoire de Paris. L’accumulation sur l’année révèle la courbe en 8 de l’équation du temps ∞ figuré par l’image du Soleil sur la Terre.

 

A PROPOS De l’équation DU TEMPS

L’équation du temps est une notion qui traduit les inégalités du temps solaire. La notion de « temps solaire moyen » correspond à un temps idéal, fictif, où le soleil revient dans la même direction au bout de 24h. Tous les jours où le Soleil est visible, le soleil passe au méridien de l’observatoire, dans cette salle Cassini. On y on voit cette tache de lumière qui coupe le méridien de Paris au midi solaire. 

 

 

A propos du livre

Chacune des 365 premières pages du présent ouvrage est centrée sur la position de l’image du Soleil lors de son passage au midi moyen local dans la salle Cassini de l’Observatoire de Paris (48°50’11’’N – 02°20’14’’E). Les prises de vue ont été réalisées par Raphaël Dallaporta au plus près de l’œilleton situé à 9,933 m à l’aplomb sud de la méridienne. De ce point de vue, l’image du Soleil apparaît circulaire, la perspective réduisant les variations de sa projection elliptique au cours de l’année. L’astronome et historien des sciences Denis Savoie expose dans les pages suivantes les principes de l’équation du temps, d’après le tracé de la courbe en huit lorsque la révolution de la Terre autour du Soleil au bout d’un an est accomplie.

 

Conçu comme un objet ludique flip book par le studio Kummer & Herrman, le lecteur découvre la courbe en huit qui se forme au fil des pages.

Dans la postface, l’astronome Denis Savoie expose les principes de l’équation du temps, d’après le tracé de la courbe en huit, la révolution de la Terre autour du Soleil au bout d’un an. 

 

L’ouvrage a été réalisé dans le cadre du Prix Niépce Gens d’Images, dont The Eyes Publishing est mécène depuis 2019, en collaboration avec Picto Foundation. 

 

 

 

 

A propos de l’auteur

Raphaël Dallaporta, né en 1980, élabore une œuvre saluée par la critique pour la rigueur de ses protocoles de prises de vues, sa conviction documentaire et la pertinence de ses installations dans lesquelles s’établissent des connexions insolites entre histoire, science, art et technologie. Chacun de ses projets, cherchant à rendre visibles des phénomènes, objets ou territoires, respectivement cachés, tabous ou inaccessibles sont finalisés par une publication monographique. Raphaël Dallaporta fonde sa démarche sur une approche scientifique afin d’interroger d’abord l’empathie qu’engendrent des sujets de société, et de jouer avec les statuts souvent variées d’une image photographique. Toute son œuvre suit un mouvement qui extrait la photographie de sa condition documentaire pour convoquer une vision symbolique.

Il est lauréat de l’ICP Infinity Award 2010 à NewYork et du Paul Huf Award 2011 du Foam à Amsterdam. Après avoir été pensionnaire à l’Académie de France à Rome – Villa Médicis en 2014-2015, il réalise le projet Chauvet-Pont d’Arc, l’inappropriable, publié en 2016, aux éditions Xavier Barral et exposé à Kyoto au Japon et au Centquatre-Paris.

 

Raphaël Dallaporta est représenté par la galerie Jean-Kenta Gauthier, qui devait organiser du 21 novembre au 19 décembre 2020 une exposition autour du projet et du livre. Les nouvelles dates seront communiquer ultérieurement. 

 

VIDEO INTERVIEW // Raphaël Dallaporta & Denis Savoie 

Télécharger le dossier de presse.

 


Articles sélectionnés

Meeting Point / MEP, Podcasts

27/08/2020

THE EYES X MEP : Meeting Point

 

Chaque jeudi soir à 19h, du 17 août au 17 septembre, (ré)écoutez un Meeting Point désormais disponible sous format podcast !

 

Lire la suite 

Conversations, Vol.3

Ce troisième volume des Conversations de Rémi Coignet fait la part belle à des photographes particulièrement intéressés par l'édition et le travail éditorial.

 

20€

Découvrir Commander


Découvrir

Conversations, Vol.3

Ce troisième volume des Conversations de Rémi Coignet fait la part belle à des photographes particulièrement intéressés par l'édition et le travail éditorial.

 

20€

Découvrir Commander

The Eyes #10

TRAversées

 

Celles qui entravent et celles qui relient.

 

21 x 28 cm
208 pages
25€

Découvrir Commander

12/09/2018

The Eyes Club

Lire la suite