DAVID SOLO’S FAVORITE BOOK

Back to Meeting Point #4 at la MEP : David Solo, the book collector, was the guets of the Spotlight section. Discover his favorite book he shared with us. 

 

David Solo is a collector of photographs, Japanese and Chinese contemporary art, and especially artists’ books and photos, based in Brooklyn, New York.  

Coups de cœur de ®©, Meeting Point / MEP

19/02/2020

DAVID SOLO’S FAVORITE: MUSEUM BY DRAGANA JURISIC AND PAULA MEEHAN

 

At the February 2020 Meeting Point, in parallel with his ongoing exploration of the world history of photo-poetry combinations in book form, David Solo presented one of his favourite recent examples, Museum by Dragana Jurisic and Paula Meehan.  Published by the Dublin City Council Culture Company in 2019, the book is the result of a series of commissions and collaborations associated with the new museum at 14 Henrietta St. in Dublin.

 

On February 2020 Meeting Point, in parallel with his ongoing exploration of the world history of photo-poetry combinations in book form, David Solo presented one of his favourite recent examples, Museum by Dragana Jurisic and Paula Meehan.  Published by the Dublin City Council Culture Company in 2019, the book is the result of a series of commissions and collaborations associated with the new museum at 14 Henrietta St. in Dublin.

 

Opened in 2018, 14 Henrietta Street is a museum of the social history of life in Dublin. It tells the story of the building’s changing fortunes through 300 years of city life: a journey from its great Georgian beginnings to the dwellings of its later years. Paula Meehan, an Irish poet and playwright born in Dublin in 1955, has been commissioned in 2017 to write and perform a series of poems about the inhabitants and the history of the building, drawing on her own childhood experience of working class Dublin.  Dragana Jurisic, an artist born in Yugoslavia, was commissioned the following year to respond and collaborate with Paula and her work to produce a series of photographs.  All of this work was published under the title Museum.

 

As an example of photo-poetry, it works extremely well – providing complementary and often indirect or elusive evocations of the people who lived in the house, their memories and stories, and the textures of the building.  Meehan wrote a series of poems “dedicated” to the Muses, interspersed with two other poems – all framed against the wallpaper and the walls of the building.  She comments: “The house inspired me to create this sequence, in recognition of the people I grew up among, who formed my moral and social compass; the original architects, builders and craftsmen, who created such an elegant and durable building; the people who have made it their home over the years, who leave behind stories of survival and courage, and the committed people who worked incredibly hard to make this project a reality”.  The poems form the central part of the book and are in turn framed by two sequences of photographs.  Jurisic says: “It was the walls of the house that fascinated me the most: with successive layers of old wallpaper or paint, pictures, graffiti, they were like secret maps inviting you to imagine the hundreds of destinies that 14 rue Henrietta has witnessed”.

 

For me, this book is an example of how these two forms and these two things work strongly together and are greater than the sum of the parts.  The images and text are evocative, not illustrative, and the relooking and rereading bring new perspectives and reflections.  They bring out memories, people, space and you feel like you are hearing the voices of the occupants.


Discover

The Eyes #1

Automne-hiver 2013

Format 21x28 / 184 pages

DiscoverOrder

The Eyes #10

CROSSINGS

Automn 2019

 

The Eyes Publishing 
Format 21x28 cm / 208 pages

DiscoverOrder

The Eyes #2

Printemps-été 2013

Format 21x28 / 192 pages + livret 24p

DiscoverOrder

The Eyes #3

Automne-hiver 2014

Format 21x28 / 192 pages + livret 24p

DiscoverOrder

The Eyes #4

Printemps-été 2015

Format 21x28 / 160 pages + livret 16p

DiscoverOrder

The Eyes #5

Automne-hiver 2015

Format 21x28 / 160 pages

DiscoverOrder

The Eyes #6

Printemps-été 2016

Format 21x28 / 160 pages

DiscoverOrder

The Eyes #9

Automne 2018

Format 21x28 cm / 208 pages

DiscoverOrder

The Eyes #8

Automne 2017

Format 21x28 cm / 208 pages

DiscoverOrder

The Eyes #7

Automne-hiver 2016

Format 21x28 / 160 pages

Discover

Accepte-le – Un album portugais 1919-1979 (collector’s edition)

Céline Gaille

Format 22x29 cm

Original album, original B/W prints

Edition of 15 copies

DiscoverOrder

Accepte-le – Un album portugais 1919-1979

cÉLINE gRAILLE

Format 29x22 cm

112 pages

DiscoverOrder

Conversations, Vol. 1 (collector edition)

REMI COIGNET

With a print
by Morten Andersen

Format 13x20 cm

Edition of 5 copies

DiscoverOrder

Conversations, Vol. 1 (collector edition)

REMI COIGNET

With a print by Daniel Blaufuks

Format 13x20 cm

Edition of 5 copies

DiscoverOrder

Conversations, Vol. 1 (collector edition)

RÉMI COIGNET

With a print by Bernard Faucon

Format 13x20 cm

Edition of 5 copies

DiscoverOrder

Conversations, Vol. 1 (collector edition)

REMI COIGNET

With a signed print
by JH Engström

Format 13x20 cm

304 pages

French

DiscoverOrder

Conversations, Vol. 1 (collector edition)

RÉMI COIGNET

With a print by Raphael Dallaporta

Format 13x20 cm

Edition of 5 copies

DiscoverOrder

Conversations, Vol. 1 (collector edition)

REMI COIGNET

With a print
by Pieter Hugo

Format 13x20 cm

Edition of 5 copies

DiscoverOrder

COUP DE COEUR DE DAVID SOLO

Découvrez le coup de coeur de David Solo présenté lors du dernier Meeting Point #4 présenté par The Eyes à la MEP. 

      

David Solo est un collectionneur de photographies, d’art contemporain japonais et chinois, et surtout de livres d’artistes et de photos, basé à Brooklyn, New York. 

Coups de cœur de ®©, Meeting Point / MEP

19/02/2020

COUP DE COEUR DE DAVID SOLO: Museum by Dragana Jurisic et Paula Meehan

 

Lors du Meeting Point de février 2020, parallèlement à son exploration continue de l’histoire mondiale des combinaisons photographie-poésie sous forme de livre, David Solo a présenté l’un de ses exemples récents préférés, Museum by Dragana Jurisic et Paula Meehan.  Publié par la Dublin City Council Culture Company en 2019, le livre est le résultat d’un ensemble de commandes et de collaborations associées au nouveau musée du 14 Henrietta St. à Dublin.

 

Ouvert en 2018, le 14 Henrietta Street est un musée d’histoire sociale de la vie à Dublin. Il raconte l’histoire des changements de fortune du bâtiment à travers 300 ans de vie urbaine : un voyage de ses grands débuts géorgiens aux habitations de ses dernières années. Paula Meehan, poète et dramaturge irlandaise née à Dublin en 1955, a été chargée en 2017 d’écrire et d’interpréter une série de poèmes sur les habitants et l’histoire du bâtiment, en s’inspirant de sa propre expérience d’enfance dans la classe ouvrière de Dublin.  Dragana Jurisic, une artiste née en Yougoslavie, a reçu l’année suivante une commande pour répondre et collaborer avec Paula et son travail pour produire une série de photographies.  L’ensemble de ces travaux a été publié sous le titre Museum.

 

En tant qu’exemple de photo-poésie, il fonctionne extrêmement bien – fournissant des évocations complémentaires et souvent indirectes ou insaisissables des personnes qui ont habité la maison, de leurs souvenirs et de leurs histoires, et des textures du bâtiment.  Meehan a écrit une série de poèmes « dédiés » aux muses, entrecoupés de deux autres poèmes – tous encadrés contre le papier peint et les murs du bâtiment.  Elle commente : « La maison m’a inspirée pour créer cette séquence, en reconnaissance des personnes parmi lesquelles j’ai grandi, qui ont formé ma boussole morale et sociale ; des architectes, constructeurs et artisans d’origine, qui ont créé un bâtiment si élégant et durable ; des personnes qui y ont élu domicile au fil des ans, qui laissent derrière elles des histoires de survie et de courage, et des personnes engagées qui ont travaillé incroyablement dur pour réaliser ce projet ».  Les poèmes constituent la partie centrale du livre et sont à leur tour encadrés par deux séquences de photographies.  Jurisic dit : « Ce sont les murs de la maison qui m’ont le plus fasciné : avec des couches successives de vieux papiers peints ou de peinture, des images, des graffitis, ils étaient comme des cartes secrètes vous invitant à imaginer les centaines de destins dont le 14 rue Henrietta a été témoin ».

 

Pour moi, ce livre est un exemple de la façon dont ces deux formes et ces deux choses fonctionnent fortement ensemble et sont plus grandes que la somme des parties.  Les images et le texte sont évocateurs et non illustratifs, et le relooking et la relecture apportent de nouvelles perspectives et réflexions.  Ils font ressortir les souvenirs, les personnes, l’espace et vous avez l’impression d’entendre les voix des occupants


Découvrir

The Eyes #1

Automne-hiver 2013

Format 21x28 / 184 pages

DécouvrirCommander

The Eyes #10

Traversées

La revue de photographie à collectionner

The Eyes Publishing 
Format 21x28 cm / 208 pages

DécouvrirCommander

The Eyes #2

Printemps-été 2013

Format 21x28 / 192 pages + livret 24p

DécouvrirCommander

The Eyes #3

Automne-hiver 2014

Format 21x28 / 192 pages + livret 24p

DécouvrirCommander

The Eyes #4

Printemps-été 2015

Format 21x28 / 160 pages + livret 16p

DécouvrirCommander

The Eyes #5

Automne-hiver 2015

Format 21x28 / 160 pages

DécouvrirCommander

The Eyes #6

Printemps-été 2016

Format 21x28 / 160 pages

DécouvrirCommander

The Eyes #9

Automne 2018

Format 21x28 cm / 208 pages

DécouvrirCommander

The Eyes #8

Automne 2017

Format 21x28 cm / 208 pages

DécouvrirCommander

The Eyes #7

Automne-hiver 2016

Format 21x28 / 160 pages

Découvrir

Accepte-le – Un album portugais 1919-1979 (édition collector)

Céline Gaille

Format 22x29 cm

Album original, tirages cartolines

Édition de 15 exemplaires

DécouvrirCommander

Accepte-le – Un album portugais 1919-1979

celine gaille

29x22 cm

112 pages

DécouvrirCommander

Conversations, Vol. 1 (édition collector)

REMI COIGNET

Avec un tirage
de Morten Andersen

Format 13x20 cm

Édition de 5 exemplaires

DécouvrirCommander

Conversations, Vol. 1 (édition collector)

REMI COIGNET

Avec un tirage de Daniel Blaufuks

Format 13x20 cm

Édition de 5 exemplaires

DécouvrirCommander

Conversations, Vol. 1 (édition collector)

RÉMI COIGNET

Avec un tirage de Bernard Faucon

Format 13x20 cm

Édition de 5 exemplaires

DécouvrirCommander

Conversations, Vol. 1 (édition collector)

REMI COIGNET

Avec un tirage

de JH Engström

Format 13x20 cm

304 pages

Français

DécouvrirCommander

Conversations, Vol. 1 (édition collector)

RÉMI COIGNET

Avec un tirage de Raphael Dallaporta

Format 13x20 cm

Édition de 5 exemplaires

DécouvrirCommander

Conversations, Vol. 1 (édition collector)

REMI COIGNET

Avec un tirage
de Peter Hugo

Format 13x20 cm

Édition de 5 exemplaires

DécouvrirCommander